HSU Staff Senate Minutes Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Members Present: Brian Bagwell, Yvette Bragg, Randy McCauley, Jennifer Wright, Vickie Shipley, Ermatine Johnson, Carrie Roberson, Forrest Shultz, Jordan Argo, Jimmy Elgas, Sheri Phillips, Reo Cummings, Erin Poe, Krystal McLane, Earl Beasley, Chanda Hooten

Members Absent: Shelia Hollis

The regular meeting of the Henderson Staff Senate was held on Wednesday, January 11, 2017 in the Cabe Room of the Garrison Center. President Chanda Hooten called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m.

- I. Minutes from the December 14, 2016 meeting were approved as amended.
- II. President's Report
 - a) The university is in the process of developing a campus master plan. The process started in 2015 but was put on hold for about a year. We are now under contract with SmithGroupJJR. They are in the process of gathering information to complete the master plan. They will be on campus Feb. 1-3. They are trying to develop an understanding of our current capacities and anticipated needs. They will be meeting with several individuals and groups across campus.

III. Old Business

- a) Staff Handbook Progress: President Hooten announced that Pam's committee has made final changes to the handbook. Ms. Ligon has submitted it to Elaine Kneebone for approval.
- b) Staff Emergency Fund Update: President Hooten suggested that we discuss the emergency fund further at the February meeting after the committee members have been selected.
- c) Staff Senate Constitution: President Hooten and former President Taggard discussed that the updated version of the constitution still needs to be voted on. Not enough staff members have participated in the voting process. President Hooten suggested that a ballot box to be present at the staff awards for staff members to place their ballots. More options will be discussed at the next meeting.

IV. New Business

- a) Introductions around the room
- b) New Appointments
 - o Secretary- Krystal McLane
 - President Elect- Reo Cummings
- c) Staff Senate Committee Members

- Election Committee-member selection was put on hold until more Senators are elected from the Finance and Administration area.
- Textbook Scholarship Committee- Erin Poe, Jimmy Elgas, Earl Beasley, Forrest Schultz (Chair)
- Staff Handbook Committee- Sheri Phillips, Yvette Bragg (Chair), Carrie Roberson
- Survey/Shared Governance Committee- Shelia Hollis, Randy McCauley (Chair), Brian Bagwell
- Staff Emergency Fund Committee- Jennifer Wright (Chair), Vickie Shipley, Ermatine Johnson, Jordan Argo, Earl Beasley, Brian Bagwell
- Staff Engagement Committee- Chanda Hooten (Chair), Jennifer Wright, Ermatine Johnson, Jordan Argo, Earl Beasley, Brian Bagwell
- V. Special Election for Staff Senate
 - a) Two more senators are needed from the Finance and Administration area. Financial Aid and Computer Services have moved from the Academic Area to Finance and Administration. Due to this change two more senators need to be elected to represent this area. Vickie Shipley has agreed to take care of getting nominees and conducting the special election.
- VI. Communication Channels
 - a) In an effort to increase communication to all staff members, President Hooten suggested every staff senator have a group of staff members they communicate with directly to fill them in on what is happened in Staff Senate as well as other important issues. She will bring an updated list to the February meeting for everyone.

VII. Adjournment

a) Randy McCauley made a motion to adjourn and Erin Poe seconded. Meeting was adjourned at 10:44 a.m.

The next Staff Senate meeting will be held on Wednesday, February 8, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in the Cabe Room of the Garrison.

Respectfully submitted,

Krystal McLane Staff Senate Secretary