# Meeting Minutes HSU Staff Senate January 7, 2015

#### Call to Order

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Henderson State University Staff Senate was called to order at 10:02 a.m. in the Ross Room by President Julie Cissell.

#### **Roll Call**

**Members Present:** Brian Bagwell, Teresa Bird, Julie Cissell, Amy Cooley, David Epperhart, Zac Evans, Christopher Golston, Keasha Gordon-Turner, Sheila Hollis, Pam Ligon, Tonya McBay, Randy McCauley, Troy Mitchell, Alisha Reid, Elizabeth Taggard, Wanda Tigue

Members Absent: Lisa Buck, Josh Hebig, Valerie Hunter, Arsala Khan, Veronikha Salazar

**Proxy:** Amy Hunnewell-Fitzroy was present on behalf of Dawn Mabery.

## **Approval of Minutes**

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved by motion of Randy McCauley, seconded by Brian Bagwell.

#### **Election of Officers**

An election was held during the Staff Senate Meeting to elect officers for the positions of President-Elect and Secretary.

**Results:** Beth Taggard- President-Elect, Dawn Mabery- Secretary

#### **President's Report**

Staff Senate President Julie Cissell met with President Jones in reference to the concern brought up at the last Staff Senate meeting regarding the meetings that are being presented to each department regarding the survey that was conducted. The President and Bobby Jones explained that they are wanting to make a resolution and resolve how to make things better on campus and both recommend that anyone who felt that they could not go to their immediate supervisor that they could go to HR or somewhere that you felt comfortable and speak to someone or speak to the Staff Senate President. The President and Bobby Jones both want there to be an open line of communication.

Staff Senate President Julie Cissell gave a report on about the last Shared Governance meeting and said that they will be launching it soon. She also mentioned that Staff Senators needed to better represent their departments and areas.

#### **Committee Preferences**

Each Staff Senator chose which committee they wanted to be on. Below are the committees and the members and chair for each:

<u>Election Committee</u>: Alisha Reid- Chair, Zac Evans, Dawn Mabery, Sheila Hollis <u>Textbook Scholarship Committee</u>: Chris Golston- Chair, Troy Mitchell, Josh Hebig, Arsala Khan <u>Survey Committee</u>: Keasha Gordon-Turner- Chair, Beth Taggard, Veronikha Salazar, Randy McCauley

<u>Staff Handbook Committee</u>: Pam Ligon- Chair, Amy Cooley, Tonya McBay, Amy Hunnewell-Fitzroy

### **Announcements/Staff Concerns**

Staff Senate President Julie Cissell suggested that one Staff Senator needs to represent Staff Senate at the Faculty Senate meetings. Amy Hunnewell-Fitzroy volunteered to attend the meetings, Pam Ligon volunteered as alternate.

## Adjournment

On motion by Pam Ligon, seconded by Zac Evans, the meeting was adjourned. The next scheduled meeting of the Staff Senate will be on February 10, 2015.

Respectfully Submitted,

Alisha Reid