Ellis College honors outstanding students

Henderson State University’s Matt Locke Ellis College of Arts and Sciences honored several students for their creative and academic accomplishments at the annual Student Awards Ceremony April 14 in the Garrison Center Lecture Hall.

Outstanding Creative Accomplishment awards

Recipients of the Outstanding Creative Accomplishment awards are selected based on artistic accomplishment, research or service to others. Each department within the Ellis College selects a student to receive the award. The 2016 recipients are: Hailey Bean of Arkadelphia, art (artistic); Susie Brown of Malvern, biology research; Mary Davis of Benton, chemistry research; Larkin Parks of Texarkana, artistic dance; Hailey Jones of Park Hill, Okla., English (creative); Tiffany Pitcock of Benton, foreign languages (creative); Claire Howard of Wake Village, Texas, music (artistic); Anna Davis of Newhope, nursing (service to others); David Rose III of Arkadelphia, psychology research; and Cammy McAdams of Willisville, sociology (service to others).

Outstanding Graduating Senior awards

Each department within the Ellis College selects one student from each major to receive the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award. The students must have a cumulative 3.00 GPA or higher and have either graduated in the fall semester or be eligible to graduate in the spring semester.

Awards were presented to: Jordan Jones of Little Rock, art; Itzela Cruz of Arkadelphia, biology; Rachael Robbins of Pearcy, chemistry; Katie Smith of Guy, communication; Ashley Bles of Fairfield Bay, mass media; Jordan Sereal of Sherwood, theatre; Shana Campbell of McCaskill, English; Torii Cloud of Benton, Spanish; Donald Usry of Arkadelphia, computer science; Jacob Woodall of Hot Springs, statistics; Alan Burns of Ashdown, music B.A.; CamRyn Stillman of Benton, music education; Rafael Powell, music performance; Kenda Syler of Okolona, nursing; Alex Riddell of Hot Springs, physics; Brittany Jonesw of Texarkana, psychology; Lindsey Rhodes of McCaskill, social sciences B.S.E.; Jeffrey Powell of Magnolia, history; Abigail Brenneman of Hot Springs, political science; Kallie Payne of Arkadelphia, public administration/public management; and Crystal Alexander of Jacksonville, sociology.

The Ellis College recognizes up to 36 students for Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards. Selected students have a minimum GPA of 3.50. Other considerations might include difficulties overcome in maintaining high academic standards, quality of involvement in campus activities, leadership, and service to the university community.

Outstanding Junior Academic Achievement awards

Awards for Outstanding Junior Academic Achievement were presented to: Sacha Martin of Amity, art; Clayton Jenks of Benton, biology; Carlie Clem of Texarkana, Texas, chemistry; John McManus of Camden, English; China Banks of North Little Rock, mathematics; Tanner Oglesby of Arkadelphia, music; Emily Strand of Texarkana, Texas, nursing; Michelle Carter of Arkadelphia, psychology; Joshua Switzer of Hot Springs, history; and Jennifer Brown of Westerly, Rhone Island, human services.

Outstanding Sophomore Academic Achievement awards

Awards for Outstanding Sophomore Achievement were presented to: Erin Hickl of Harvey, art; Shiloh Goecke of Atlanta, Texas, biology; Shannon Hardage of Bismarck, chemistry; Stephanie Cowan of Hot Springs, English; Jonathan Oler of Arkadelphia, computer science; Kam Martin of Arkadelphia, music; Mikayla Webber of Arvanda, Colorado, nursing; Destanie Nelson of Arkadelphia, psychology; Samuel Cox of Rison, history; and Danielle Robinson of Humphrey, criminal justice.

Outstanding Freshman Academic Achievement awards

Recipients of the Freshman Academic Achievement awards are: Julie Myers of Biloxi, Mississippi, art; Monica Johnson of Hot Springs, biology; Jessica Stephens of Foreman, chemistry; Brittany Branum of Greenwood, Spanish; Nikolas Gillespie of Hot Springs, mathematics; Ariya Tai of Arkadelphia, music; Micah Grandstaff of Sparkman, psychology; Danielle Washington of Hot Springs, history; and Kaitlyn Hall of White Hall, sociology.