Miss HSU

The Miss Henderson State University pageant has a long and proud tradition at Henderson State University. The first pageant, held in Arkansas Hall, was on March 24, 1960.

Eleven contestants vied for the title of “Miss HSTC” Annette Reeves, a freshman from Malvern, was crowned as the first “Miss Henderson State.” Sue West, sophomore from Malvern, was the first runner-up; Mary Janice Nethery, junior from Arkadelphia, was second runner-up.

Throughout the years different campus organizations have taken the lead to keep the strong tradition of Miss HSU going, and it is currently organized by the Miss HSU Board. For nearly fiften years, members of Henderson’s national Greek organization, Order of Omega, dedicated their time and energy to the pageant. In 2007, Henderson’s Student Government Association was given the challenge to reenergize the pageant and keep this valuable tradition to Henderson State University alive.

The Miss Henderson State University scholarship program is a local preliminary to Miss Arkansas, and the winner gets to compete each summer for the title of Miss Arkansas where additional scholarship opportunities are available.

Miss HSU 2018 Jeana Lovett is a Junior Pre-Med Biology major from Waldron, Arkansas. Her platform is "Seconds Saves Lives" that focuses on the importance of learning CPR, and her talent is flute.

Miss HSU Pageant Winners  

2018 Jeana Lovett
2017 Olivia Moore
2016 Mariah Brown
2015 Brooke Cornelius
2014 Brittney Humphrey
2013 Kendreka Myles
2012 Miranda Johnson
2011 Kaitlyn Icenhower
2010 Tiffany Templeton
2009 Michelle Bailey
2008 Katie Barbaree
2007 Bethany Langston
2006 Janice Wilson
2005 Leah Forrest
2004 Tracy Peek
2003 Julie Furhmann
2002 Taylor Carlisle
2001 Lorri McPowell
2000 Roxie Hannah
1999 Elizabeth Jane Edwards
1998 Shannon Simmons
1997 Faith Lamb
1996 Amy Leah Hebert
1995 Penny Dunn
1994 Deborah Dawson
1993 Lena Womack
1992 Stacy McKnight
1991 Shannon Halcomb
1990 Jackie Joyner
1989 Deanna Parker
1988 Leslie Branstine
1987 Tina Richardson
1986 Cheryl Dorsey
1985 Carrie Riggan
1984 Toni Hall
1983 Vivian Johnson
1982 Marsha Rickett
1981 Julia Williams
1980 Gaye Garner
1979 Jennifer Ford
1978 Donna Roebuck
1977 Becky Wood
1976 Beverly Ann Bankosh
1975 Bonnie Carol Adams
1974 Kathy Conway
1973 Carol Joe Clark
1972 Cathy Ruth Stephens
1971 Virginia Lynn Boles
1970 Susan Jame Toler
1969 Nancy Ruth Birkhead
1968 Linda LaNell Haney
1967 Tura Maribeth Bell
1966 Emily Suzanne Davidson
1965 Barbara Nell Cantrell
1964 Brenda Ritchey
1963 Sue Sinks
1962 Lynn Livingston
1961 Linda May Riggans
1960 Annette Reeves