Sigma Tau Gamma


Vision & Purpose

Sigma Tau Gamma is a national collegiate fraternity founded in 1920 by veterans of the First World War to be a Fraternity of courageous and noble gentlemen who always endeavor forward. Its members dedicate themselves to a set of six Principles: Learning, Integrity, Excellence, Leadership, Citizenship, and Brotherhood.

Chapter History

The Alpha Epsilon chapter of Sigma Tau Gamma signed their charter on March 23rd, 1946 – making them the first Greek organization at Henderson State University. After a brief hiatus during the 2000’s, Angel Gonzales came from Headquarters in February of 2017 with the goal of recolonizing the Alpha Epsilon Chapter at Henderson State University. With the help of sororities and several interest sessions, Angel was able to obtain a large spark of interest in the fraternity campus wide. Within the course of three months, he had successfully given bids out to 19 members. Then as a group, when Angel departed, they recruited and gave bids to 5 more members and finally initiated 24 members as the new Founding Fathers of Alpha Epsilon. These members flourished in the coming months before summer as established leaders throughout Greek Life and campus. After a year of accomplishing hundreds of benchmarks and continuing to grow as an organization, they were reinstated with their charter on March 31st, 2018 – regaining national recognition. Since then, they have won numerous awards on both a campus and a national level.

Chapter Awards:

  • Campus:
    • Student Organization of the Year (2018)
    • Fraternity of the Year (2018)
    • Greek Week Champions (2018)
    • Highest GPA (2017)
    • Greek Man of the Year Awardees:
      • Paul J. Hawron (2018)
  • National:
    • Fraternity of the Year (2018)
    • Chapter Efficiency Award (2018)
    • Foundation Advocate Award (2018)


Notable Alumni

  • John (Jack) Link, UW – Stout – Founder of Jack Link’s Jerky
  • Glen Hocker, Truman State – Founder of Dairy Queen International
  • William H. Byler, Central Missouri – Inventor of Black Light
  • Robert A. Libby, Truman State – Inventor of Pringle Potato Chips
  • Captain James A. Graham, Frostburg State – United States Navy Presidential Medal of Honor and Purple Heart recipient
  • 1st Lieutenant Carlos C. Ogden, Eastern Illinois – US Army Medal of Honor recipient
  • Gil Morgan, East Central – Professional Golf Hall of Fame
  • A. Wright, Northwestern Oklahoma – Chairman of the Board for Exxon Oil & Refining Co., Past Chairman of the US Chamber of Commerce
  • Mel Hancock, Missouri State – US Congressman for the State of Missouri
  • Brad Ellsworth, Southern Indiana – US Congressman for the State of Indiana
  • Dee Brown, Central Arkansas – Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee Author
  • James Kirkpatrick, Central Missouri – Missouri Secretary of State
  • Stan Musial, Cal U – Major League Baseball Hall of Fame, Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient



Social Media




National Website