Partners in Education (PiE)

Our Mission

Our mission is to improve the professional preparation of teacher education candidates and to provide continual professional development for practicing educators who believe in "teaching and leading for learning for all."

Our Belief

Our belief is that the preparation of effective educators involves commitment, cooperation, and a shared vision among all partners in the P-16 educational community.

Our Approach

Our approach involves the constructivist view and philosophy.  The larger P-16 community provides learning experiences that go far beyond the traditional classroom.

Public school districts, community colleges, education service cooperatives, Teachers College, the Southwest-A ERZ, the HSU STEM Center, the M.H. Russell Center for Economics Education, and the Ellis College of Arts and Sciences comprise the membership of PiE.  HSU PiE share resources that provide quality preparation, professional development, and support for in-service and pre-service teacher leaders, administrators, and other school professionals.  Partners collaborate in field and clinical assignments, participate in program admission and exit interviews, and serve on program advisory councils.  They are involved in policy development, program design and development and professional development for education professionals. 

Teachers College, Henderson educator preparation programs are aligned to Arkansas Standards for Licensed Teachers, InTASC Standards, NETS for Teachers and NETS for Administrators.  They are nationally recognized by Specialty Professional Associations such as NAEYC, AMLE, NCTSS, NCTM, NCTE, CEC, and ELCC.  Candidates and graduates are knowledgeable, use best practices, and model professional dispositions.  Teachers College, Henderson is accredited by the Council for the Association of Education Programs.


Dr. Judy Harrison
Facilitator for Partners in Education
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Henderson State University
Arkadelphia, AR  71999-0001

Brenda Callaway
Administrative Specialist 
HSU Box 7820
Education Center Room 211
Arkadelphia, AR  71999-0001
Phone: 870-230-5369
Fax: 870-230-5455

Our Partners in Education

Public Schools
Arkadelphia School District
Ashdown School District 
Benton School District 
Bismarck School District 
Bryant School District
Camden Fairview School District
Centerpoint School District 
Cossatot River School District
Cutter Morning Star School District
Dierks School District
DeQueen School District 
El Dorado School District 
Fountain Lake School District 
Glen Rose School District 
Gurdon School District
Hope School District  
Horatio School District 
Hot Springs School District  
Jessieville School District  
Lake Hamilton School District
Lakeside School District
Magnet Cove School District 
Malvern School District  
Mount Ida School District 
Nashville School District 
Ouachita School District 
Poyen School District
Prescott School District 
Sheridan School District  
South Pike County School District 
Texarkana School District 

Colleges or Universities
Henderson State University 
Teachers College, Henderson 
The STEM Center
Matt Locke Ellis College of Arts and Sciences  
National Park College 
College of the Ouachitas

Education Cooperatives
Dawson Education Service Cooperative in Arkadelphia 
DeQueen/Mena Educational Cooperative in Gillham 
Southwest Arkansas Education Cooperative in Hope